Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Men Women
 USA basketball USA Basketball
Men Professional
Men College
High Schools

 Canadian basketball Canadian Hoops
Americas Events
World Events
Upcoming Events
Jul 18: Istanbul (TUR): ESL Istanbul starts
Jul 21: Istanbul (TUR): ESL Istanbul2 starts
Aug 31: WC: FIBA World Cup 2019 Qualifiers starts
Aug 31: China (WC): World Cup starts

Sanjey Noriega
Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover NCAA2 basketball. Please send us an e-mail.
  2016-2017     Previous season  

GSC Ranking
 1. Valdosta St. (14) 18-2(26-4) 
 2. W.Florida (12) 17-3(27-3) 
 3. Christian Brothers 12-8(21-9) 
 4. Lee 11-9(16-12) 
 5. Delta St. 11-9(15-15) 
 6. N.Alabama 10-10(15-13) 
 7. Montevallo 10-10(15-15) 
 8. Al.-Huntsville 9-11(16-12) 
 9. W.Georgia 9-11(14-14) 
 10. Union, TN 6-14(12-16) 
 11. Mississippi Coll. 6-14(9-16) 
 12. W.Alabama 6-22(0-20) 
 13. Auburn-Montgomery 5-15(9-19) 
 14. Shorter 3-17(3-25) 

GSC Women 2017-2018
Official Web Site

Points Per Game
 Charles EATON
  Avg: 27
 1. Eaton, W.Alabama27.0 
 2. Smith, W.Georgia21.8 
 3. Turner, W.Georgia20.1 
 4. Potter, Shorter18.9 
 5. Justice, Valdosta.18.9 
 6. Ward, Al.-Huntsville18.2 
 7. Larkin, Christia.18.1 
 8. Dieball, Christia.17.7 
 9. Fleming, W.Alabama16.9 
 10. Davis, Delta St.16.7 
Rebounds Per Game
 Darryl TUCKER
  Avg: 9.8
 1. Tucker, W.Florida9.8 
 2. McGee, N.Alabama9.5 
 3. Smith, W.Georgia8.1 
 4. Stafford, N.Ala.8.0 
 5. Wilson, Union, TN7.9 
 6. Robinson, W.Ala.7.7 
 7. Alexander, W.Ala.7.5 
 8. James, Valdosta.7.2 
 9. Boston, Mississi.6.6 
 10. Da-Silva, Union, TN6.6 
Assists Per Game
  Avg: 6.3
 1. Dieball, Christia.6.3 
 2. Benson, W.Florida5.4 
 3. Ulmer, W.Georgia5.3 
 4. Benford, Delta St.4.7 
 5. Owens, Al.-Huntsville4.3 
 6. Suedekum, Lee4.0 
 7. Larkin, Christia.3.8 
 8. Johnson, Mississi.3.7 
 9. Justice, Valdosta.3.6 
 10. Smith, N.Alabama3.5 
Steals Per Game
  Avg: 2.9
 1. Thorpe, W.Florida2.9 
 2. Burnett, Shorter1.9 
 3. Benford, Delta St.1.9 
 4. Ulmer, W.Georgia1.8 
 5. Potter, Shorter1.6 
 6. Goodwin, Union, TN1.5 
 7. Larkin, Christia.1.5 
 8. Benson, W.Florida1.5 
 9. Jones, W.Florida1.4 
 10. Eaton, W.Alabama1.4 
Blocks Per Game
 Domonique ALEXANDER
  Avg: 3
 1. Alexander, W.Ala.3.0 
 2. Kodet, Valdosta St.1.8 
 3. Tucker, W.Florida1.3 
 4. Davis, Delta St.1.3 
 5. Dillon, Mississi.1.3 
 6. Dieball, Christia.1.3 
 7. Odum, W.Georgia1.1 
 8. Owens, Al.-Huntsville1.1 
 9. Da-Silva, Union, TN1.0 
 10. James, Valdosta.1.0 

University of West Florida wins the USA GSC 2017-2018 title

University of West Florida 2017-18
Jeff Burkhamer Jeff Burkhamer Burkhamer
Henri Ventoniemi
Marvin Jones
Rashaan Benson
Moter Deng
Latrell Tidwell
# Name CM (INCH) Pos Bo NAT
40  Ventoniemi Henri 208 (6'10'') F 95 Finland
4  Jones Marvin 193 (6'4'') G 0 USA
24  Thorpe DJ 193 (6'4'') G 0 USA
11  Benson Rashaan 183 (6'0'') PG 0 USA
10  Deng Moter 198 (6'6'') G 0 USA
2  Tidwell Latrell 201 (6'7'') F 0 USA
21  Tucker Darryl 201 (6'7'') F 0 USA
3  Chalifoux Bryan 196 (6'5'') G 0 USA
23  Henderson Jarrett 198 (6'6'') F 0 USA
5  Jackson Shondell 196 (6'5'') F 0 USA
14  Carter Brett 188 (6'2'') G 0 USA
1  Cox Cameron 188 (6'2'') G 0 USA
34  Flanagan Conor 203 (6'8'') F 0 USA
Head Coach: Jeff Burkhamer
Coach Assistant: Brian Benator

West Florida Wins First GSC Men's Basketball Title in Double Overtime - Mar 6, 2018

UWF men's basketball (28-3) claimed the first GSC Tournament title in program history by knocking off Delta State (15-16) 71-65 in double overtime at the Pete Hanna Center Sunday. Marvin Jones (6'4''-G) earned the GSC Tournament's Most Outstanding Player Award, and he and Moter Deng (6'6''-G) were named to the All-Tournament team.
"I'm really, really happy for our players and really excited for them," said UWF head coach Jeff Burkhamer . "Really hard-fought game like I knew it would be with Delta State. It's going to be hand-to-hand combat when you play those guys. So proud of how we hung in and found a way to win the game."
The Argos fell behind out of the gate 22-8. Delta State dominated the game's first 10 minutes. The Argos were able to trim the deficit to three by half though. Deng led the team in the first with seven points and six rebounds. Darryl Tucker (6'7''-F) scored five points and grabbed two rebounds.
Delta State began the second on a 9-1 run and grew the lead as large as 39-27 with just over 15 minutes to play. The Argos reeled off a key 11-0 run to turn the 12-point deficit into just a one-point deficit. The teams battled closely the rest of the way. The Statesmen opened up a 50-46 lead before a key three by Deng cut the advantage to 50-49 with 1:55 to play.
DJ Thorpe (6'4''-G) went to the line with 23 seconds to go after being fouled and hit one of two free throws to tie the game at 50-50. A block by Tucker send the game into overtime.
"We worked too hard to get here and lose, period, point blank," said Jones of battling back. "Through everything we've been through, this was our time, this was our moment."
Delta State had a chance for the win late in the first overtime. With the score tied 56-56, good Argo defense forced a Brett Warner (6'2''-G) three-point miss as time expired. In the second overtime, Deng led the way, scoring the first six points of the period to open up a lead. He score seven of the team's 15 in the second OT. Late free throws by Jones helped seal the win.
The double overtime championship game was the first in the history of the GSC Tournament. The GSC title was the 92nd overall for the University of West Florida and the first for the men's basketball program.
Deng finished with his second straight double-double (21 points and 11 rebounds). It was his fifth double-double overall this year. Jones scored a game-high 22 points. Tucker also notched a double-double, scoring 12 points and recording 11 rebounds. The double-double was his 11th of the season.

GSC Tournament Final: West Florida - Delta State 71-65, 2OT
GSC Tournament Semifinals:
West Florida - Christian Brothers 68-58
Delta State - Valdosta State 63-59

Courtesy of GSC Sports

All-GSC Awards 2018 - Mar 6, 2018

All-GSC 1st Team 2018
Adam Dieball
Beau Justice
Jeff Larkin
Marquill Smith
Darryl Tucker

All-Tournament MVP: Marvin Jones (6'4''-G) of W.Florida
Player of the Year: Beau Justice (6'2''-G) of Valdosta St.
Freshman of the Year: Tyree Boykin (6'0''-PG) of Union, TN
Coach of the Year: Jeff Burkhamer of W.Florida

1st Team
F: Adam Dieball (6'9''-F) of Christian Brothers
G: Beau Justice (6'2''-G) of Valdosta St.
PG: Jeff Larkin (6'0''-PG) of Christian Brothers
G: Marquill Smith (6'4''-G) of W.Georgia
F: Darryl Tucker (6'7''-F) of W.Florida

2nd Team
F: PJ Davis (6'6''-F-96) of Delta St.
F: KJ James (6'5''-F-95) of Valdosta St.
G/F: Kendall Stafford (6'4''-G/F) of N.Alabama
G: Justin Ward (6'6''-G) of Al.-Huntsville
G: Chris Williams (6'2''-G) of Montevallo

All-Tournament Team
G: Moter Deng (6'6''-G) of W.Florida
G: Brett Warner (6'2''-G) of Delta St.
F: Jimmy Kodet (6'7''-F) of Valdosta St.
F: PJ Davis (6'6''-F-96) of Delta St.
G: Marvin Jones (6'4''-G) of W.Florida


Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2018 Sports I.T. Solutions Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.