Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Men Women
 USA basketball USA Basketball
Men Professional
Men College
High Schools

 Canadian basketball Canadian Hoops
Americas Events
World Events
Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover NCAA2 basketball. Please send us an e-mail.
  2010-2011    Other Seasons    2012-2013  

SSC: Season 2011-2012

SSC Ranking
 1. Florida Tech 12-4 (22-6)
 2. Eckerd 11-5 (20-8)
 3. St.Leo 10-6 (18-10)
 4. Florida Southern 9-7 (19-9)
 5. Rollins 9-7 (16-11
 6. Nova SE 7-9 (13-14)
 7. Lynn 6-10 (13-16)
 8. Barry 6-10 (12-17)
 9. Tampa 2-14 (6-20)

Florida Southern College wins the USA SSC 2011-2012 title (Photo: SSC)

Florida Southern College 2011-12
Linc Darner Linc Darner Darner
Seth Evans
Brett Bailey
Garrett Putman
Dominic Lane
Cameron Vines
# Name CM (INCH) Pos Bo NAT
21  Evans Seth 182 (6'0'') PG 90 USA
40  Bailey Brett 195 (6'5'') F 90 USA
23  Putman Garrett 198 (6'6'') G/F 91 USA
5  Lane Dominic 187 (6'2'') G 91 USA
1  Vines Cameron 193 (6'4'') G 93 USA
   Capers Kevin 186 (6'1'') G   USA
32  Hawkins Andre 198 (6'6'') F 89 USA
   Tazioli Kyle 198 (6'6'') F   USA
44  Gardner Jon 200 (6'7'') C   USA
12  Williams Jon 175 (5'9'') G   USA
34  Burton Michael 187 (6'2'') G   USA
   Kelly Tyler 188 (6'2'') G   USA
Head Coach: Linc Darner

Florida Southern Wins SSC Men's Basketball Tournament Title - Mar 6, 2012

Two clutch three pointers, one by Seth Evans and one by Kevin Capers, in the final 1:37 helped the fifth-seeded Moccasins knock off third-seeded Saint Leo, 61-58, and win their 20th Sunshine Straight Conference Tournament Championship Sunday in front of an enthusiastic crowd at Jenkins Field House.
The win, the Moccasins' sixth straight, gives them an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament next weekend. The NCAA Division II selection show is scheduled for 10:30 p.m. tonight (Sun.) at, where the Moccasins will find out who, when and where they will play.
Leading by eight, 48-40, with 8:50 remaining, the Moccasins seemed to be in control, but Saint Leo, with Marcus Ruh and Tom Neary each scoring seven points, went on a 14-2 run to take a 54-50 lead with 4:54 to go.
Capers hit a pair of free throws with 2:51 left to cut the lead to 54-52. A Saint Leo basket and two more Capers free throws still had the margin at two, but after a Saint Leo turnover at the 1:41 mark, Evans drilled a long three-pointer to put the Moccasins back in front, 57-56.
After Ruh put the Lions (18-11) back on top with a basket at the 1:03 mark, Capers answered with his three-pointer 14 seconds later to give the lead back to the Moccasins, 60-58.
On the Lions' next possession, Ruh, who led all scorers with 26 points, 24 in the second half, couldn't connect on a three-point attempt and then fouled Evans with 26 seconds left. Evans made the first one, but had a rare miss on the second one to give the Lions one more chance, but Ruh's three-point attempt at the buzzer was off the mark and the Moccasins and their fans could celebrate.
Evans, who led the Moccasins with 16 points, was named the tournament's most outstanding player and was joined on the all-tournament team by teammate Brett Bailey, Saint Leo's Ruh, Trent Thomas and Shaun Adams and Florida Tech's Anthony Jackson. Capers delivered a 15-point effort off the bench for the Moccasins. Adams had played a key role for the Lions with 14 points.
The win gives the Moccasins their fifth straight 20-win season. The SSC Tournament title is the Moccasins' first since 2009 and third under coach Linc Darner. The Moccasins will be making their fifth straight NCAA Tournament appearance.

Courtesy of SSC

SSC Tournament Final: Saint Leo - Florida Southern 58-61
SSC Tournament Semifinals:
Saint Leo - Eckerd 73-67
Florida Southern - Florida Tech 108-80

All-SSC 1st Team 2011-2012
Lance Kearse
Simon Cummings
Seth Evans
Marcus Ruh
Trent Thomas

Player of the Year: Lance Kearse (6'6''-F) of Eckerd
All-Tournament MVP: Seth Evans (6'0''-PG-90) of Florida Southern
Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Malcolm (6'8''-F) of Rollins
Freshman of the Year: Kevin Capers (6'1''-G) of Florida Southern
Newcomer of the Year: Trent Thomas (6'4''-G) of St.Leo
Coach of the Year: Lance Randall of St.Leo

1st Team
G: Simon Cummings (6'1''-90) of Florida Tech
PG: Seth Evans (6'0''-90) of Florida Southern
F: Lance Kearse (6'6'') of Eckerd
G: Marcus Ruh (6'4'') of St.Leo
G: Trent Thomas (6'4'') of St.Leo

2nd Team
F: Brett Bailey (6'5''-90) of Florida Southern
F: Derek Hellemann (6'6''-89) of Florida Tech
F: Chris Malcolm (6'8'') of Rollins
G: Julius Reid (6'1''-91) of Florida Tech
G: Evan White (6'1'') of Barry

All-Newcomers Team
Kevin Capers (6'1''-G) of Florida Southern
Seth Evans (6'0''-PG-90) of Florida Southern
Jeremy Lampkin (6'6''-G/F-91) of Lynn
Marcus Ruh (6'4''-G) of St.Leo
Trent Thomas (6'4''-G) of St.Leo

All-Tournament Team
Seth Evans (6'0''-PG-90) of Florida Southern
Brett Bailey (6'5''-F-90) of Florida Southern
Marcus Ruh (6'4''-G) of St.Leo
Trent Thomas (6'4''-G) of St.Leo
Shaun Adams (6'6''-F) of St.Leo
Anthony Jackson (6'5''-G) of Florida Tech

Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2018 Eurobasket Inc. Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.