Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Men Women
 USA basketball USA Basketball
Women Professional
Women College

 Canadian basketball Canadian Hoops
Americas Events
World Events
Upcoming Events
Aug 20: UNG: World University Games starts
Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover NCAA1 basketball. Please send us an e-mail.
  2015-2016     Previous season  

SUM Standings
 1. W.Illinois 11-3 (21-5) 
 2. S.Dakota St. 10-3 (19-6) 
 3. IUPUI 10-4 (20-7) 
 4. S.Dakota 9-3 (20-5) 
 5. Omaha 5-7 (12-13) 
 6. ORU 5-8 (13-13) 
 7. Denver 3-10 (6-20) 
 8. N.Dakota St. 3-10 (5-21) 
 9. IPFW 2-10 (5-20) 

SUM Men 2016-2017
Official Web Site

Player of the Year: Emily Clemens (Photo: Western Illinois)

Points Per Game
  Avg: 19.3
 1. Clemens, W.Illinois19.3 
 2. Shaw, Omaha17.8 
 3. Blumer, W.Illinois17.0 
 4. Arens, S.Dakota16.1 
 5. Lawrence, IU.16.1 
 6. Guebert, S.Dakota.15.5 
 7. Miller, S.Dakota.15.1 
 8. Dapprich, Omaha14.4 
 9. Thunstedt, N.Dakota.14.0 
 10. Higginbotham, W.Illino.13.9 
Rebounds Per Game
 Mikale ROGERS
  Avg: 7.9
 1. Rogers, IU.7.9 
 2. Ober, S.Dakota St.7.6 
 3. Shaw, Omaha7.6 
 4. Ihim, ORU7.3 
 5. Thompson, S.Dakota.6.9 
 6. Martianez, ORU6.9 
 7. Jones, N.Dakota St.6.7 
 8. Blumer, W.Illinois6.0 
 9. Fogg, S.Dakota5.8 
 10. Higginbotham, W.Illino.5.7 
Assists Per Game
  Avg: 7
 1. Clemens, W.Illinois7.0 
 2. Arens, S.Dakota3.8 
 3. Shaw, Omaha3.7 
 4. Young, S.Dakota St.3.5 
 5. Vidal, Omaha3.4 
 6. Davenport, Omaha3.3 
 7. Jacobson, N.Dakota.3.3 
 8. Mayberry, ORU2.8 
 9. Duffy, S.Dakota2.8 
 10. Higginbotham, W.Illino.2.7 
Steals Per Game
  Avg: 2.5
 1. Clemens, W.Illinois2.5 
 2. Boyle, W.Illinois2.1 
 3. Higginbotham, W.Illino.2.0 
 4. Rinehart, IPFW1.9 
 5. Blumer, W.Illinois1.8 
 6. Mayberry, ORU1.8 
 7. Lawrence, IU.1.5 
 8. McKeever, S.Dakota1.4 
 9. Beatty, ORU1.4 
 10. Davenport, Omaha1.4 
Blocks Per Game
 Olivia BRAUN
  Avg: 2.8
 1. Braun, W.Illinois2.8 
 2. Rogers, IU.2.4 
 3. Ober, S.Dakota St.1.4 
 4. Thompson, S.Dakota.1.2 
 5. Fogg, S.Dakota1.1 
 6. Martianez, ORU1.0 
 7. Alt, Denver0.8 
 8. Kistler, IPFW0.7 
 9. Blumer, W.Illinois0.7 
 10. Spittel, Denver0.7 

Western Illinois Wins SummitWBB Championship (Photo: Summit L.)

Western Illinois University 2016-17
J.D. Gravina J.D. Gravina Gravina
Olivia Braun
Morgan Blumer
Emily Clemens
Taylor Higginbotham
Mallory Boyle
# Name CM (INCH) Pos Bo NAT
3  Braun Olivia 185 (6'1'') F 95 USA
12  Blumer Morgan 180 (5'11'') G 95 USA
2  Clemens Emily 163 (5'4'') G 95 USA
24  Higginbotham Taylor 178 (5'10'') G 0 USA
10  Boyle Mallory 180 (5'11'') G 95 USA
22  Farrow Michelle 178 (5'10'') G 95 USA
21  Patrick Jasmine 183 (6'0'') F 0 USA
4  Woodward Sammie 170 (5'7'') G 0 USA
13  Kaufmann Oliva 173 (5'8'') G 0 USA
14  Hanneman Taylor 178 (5'10'') G 0 USA
20  Pierce Andi 180 (5'11'') G 0 USA
34  Pryor Sam 183 (6'0'') G 0 USA
Head Coach: J.D. Gravina
Coach Assistant: Sydney Crafton
Coach Assistant: Taylor Ignoto

Western Illinois Wins #SummitWBB Championship - Mar 10, 2017

Top seeded Western Illinois advances to the NCAA Women's tournament with a 77-69 win over the second seeded IUPUI.
2017 Summit League tournament MVP Emily Clemens (5'4''-G-95) followed up her semi-final triple double against Omaha with a near miss on a double-double with 20 points and 9 assists.
IUPUI just about stole this game thanks to late free throws by Holly Hoopingarner (5'5''-PG) and Alex Brown. But with 2.2 seconds left on the clock, Coach Gravina drew up a play for a Taylor Hanneman (5'10''-G) three. Hanneman connected as time expired to send the game to overtime.
In the extra period Taylor Higginbotham (5'10''-G), Taylor Hanneman and Morgan Blumer all connected from deep for a 9-0 run to start ovetime. It was simply too much for the Jaguars to overcome as their leading scorer Danielle Lawrence, and their leading 3-point shooter, Sydney Hall (5'6''-G) had both fouled out.
Western Illinois had lost 13 of the last 14, including five straight to IUPUI before this victory in the Summit League Championship. This was the Fighting Leathernecks first conference title since 1995.
The Jaguars were led by Sydney Hall with 18 points, followed by Jenna Gunn (6'0''-F) (16) and Caitlyn Tolen (5'10''-G-94) (10)

Turning Point
After Western Illinois extended the game into overtime, their 9-0 run to start the period put the Jaguars into a hole that they could not dig out of.

Inside The Box Score
Conference tournament MVP Emily Clemens was one assist shy of a double double
Sydney Hall went 4/6 from beyond the arc as she finished with 18 points to lead IUPUI
Western Illinois had four players score in double figures, led by Emily Clemens with 20

News & Notes
Western Illinois reaches its first NCAA Tournament since 1995.
The total women's tournament of 21,092 is the fourth-highest of all-time.
Western Illinois becomes the first top seed to claim the women's crown since South Dakota State in 2013.
This was the first overtime period played during the championship game since 2012 (South Dakota State vs. Kansas City) and just the third overall.
There were two overtime games in the tournament for the first time since 2010.
Prior to winning three games at this season's tournament, the Fighting Leathernecks had not won a tournament game since 2012.
IUPUI advanced to the championship game for the first time since 2008 (fell to Oral Roberts).
Emily Clemens becomes the first Western Illinois player to be named tournament MVP since Oberon Pitterson in 1995.

Courtesy of The Summit League

Summit League Tournament Final: Western Illinois - IUPUI 77-69
Summit League Tournament Semifinals:
Western Illinois - Omaha 84-82
IUPUI - S.Dakota St. 65-61

All-Summit League Awards 2017 - Mar 10, 2017

All-Summit League 1st Team 2017
Allison Arens
Morgan Blumer
Emily Clemens
Madison Guebert
Danielle Lawrence

All-Tournament MVP: Emily Clemens (5'4''-G-95) of W.Illinois
Player of the Year: Emily Clemens (5'4''-G-95) of W.Illinois
Defensive Player of the Year: Clarissa Ober (6'2''-C) of S.Dakota St.
Freshman of the Year: Ciara Duffy (6'1''-G) of S.Dakota
Sixth Woman of the Year: Madison McKeever (5'8''-G) of S.Dakota
Transfer of the Year: Morgan Blumer (5'11''-G-95) of W.Illinois
Coach of the Year: J.D. Gravina of W.Illinois

1st Team
G: Allison Arens (5'9''-G) of S.Dakota
G: Morgan Blumer (5'11''-G-95) of W.Illinois
G: Emily Clemens (5'4''-G-95) of W.Illinois
G: Madison Guebert (5'8''-G) of S.Dakota St.
G: Danielle Lawrence (5'9''-G) of IUPUI
G/F: Kerri Young (6'0''-G/F) of S.Dakota St.

2nd Team
G: Taylor Higginbotham (5'10''-G) of W.Illinois
F: Faith Ihim (5'10''-F) of ORU
C: Mikale Rogers (6'2''-C) of IUPUI
F: Mikaela Shaw (6'0''-F-94) of Omaha
F: Ellie Thompson (6'1''-F) of S.Dakota St.

Honorable Mention
Michaela Dapprich (5'10''-G/F) of Omaha
Abigail Fogg (6'4''-C-94) of S.Dakota
Sydney Hall (5'6''-G) of IUPUI
Maria Martianez (6'3''-F-97) of ORU
Clarissa Ober (6'2''-C) of S.Dakota St.

All-Tournament Team
G: Morgan Blumer (5'11''-G-95) of W.Illinois
G: Emily Clemens (5'4''-G-95) of W.Illinois
C: Mikale Rogers (6'2''-C) of IUPUI
F: Mikaela Shaw (6'0''-F-94) of Omaha
G: Sydney Hall (5'6''-G) of IUPUI

All-Newcomer Team
G: Morgan Blumer (5'11''-G-95) of W.Illinois
F: Olivia Braun (6'1''-F-95) of W.Illinois
G/F: Michaela Dapprich (5'10''-G/F) of Omaha
G: Ciara Duffy (6'1''-G) of S.Dakota
G: Sarah Jacobson (5'8''-G) of N.Dakota St.


Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2017 Eurobasket Inc. Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.